Peanut Butter Chocolate Cheerio Treats

This recipe is so tasty and so easy to make! I surprised myself at how well they turned out the very first time I tried them since I’d only made regular Rice Krispie treats once before in my entire life. These are a great snack to tuck in a lunch box or just to grab in the afternoon, but they also make for a satisfying chocolatey dessert in the evening. The peanut butter flavor is just present enough in these treats; it doesn’t overpower the flavor of the Chocolate Cheerios, only complements it. These bars turn out so quickly, I’ve found they are the perfect dessert to make when a last minute pot luck or other event pops up. I know I almost always have the ingredients on hand!

PeanutĀ Butter ChocolateĀ Cheerio Treats

Ingredients:

1 bag (10 oz) marshmallows – I find the mini ones melt quicker, so I normally use those
1 box (11.25 oz) Chocolate Cheerios
1/4 cup creamy peanut butter (I used Skippy Natural, but you can use whatever brand you prefer!)
1/4 cup (1/2 stick) unsalted butter
1/3 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Recipe:

1. Lightly grease a 9 x 13 glass baking pan with either butter or cooking spray. For easy slicing, you can also line the pan with parchment paper before greasing.

2. In a large saucepan over medium-low heat, melt the butter. Add the peanut butter and stir until smooth. Add the marshmallows and stir until the marshmallows are just melted and combined with the butter and peanut butter.

3. Remove the pan from the heat and, working fairly quickly, pour the Chocolate Cheerios into the pot and stir until they are evenly coated with the marshmallow mixture.

4. Pour the Cheerios mixture into the glass baking pan, pressing it down as evenly as possible with a spatula. I’ve also found that if I wet my hands I can press the cereal down more firmly without getting everything stuck to me.

5. Sprinkle the chocolate chips over the top, lightly pressing them into the cereal.

6. Let harden until cool and then remove from the pan. Slice into bars and serve.

I’ve found these bars will keep quite awhile if put into a sealed container. Have you made a variation on the traditional Rice Krispie Treat? What flavor combination did you try?

9 responses

  1. looks tasty all the best for your wee mans first flight he should sleep overnight but may be jet lagged but don’t worry will be fine

  2. Love this! I made ones with Cheerios a couple years ago when my son was super young, more plain with cranberries…I think he will like these MUCH better :) I know I will!

Leave a Reply

