Orlando Food Trucks: The Treehouse Truck

Originally posted on Blogger on June 3, 2011

I am loving the local Orlando food truck scene, and so I’ve decided to devote a day each week (Friday!) to one of the awesome trucks around town. I figure that they are multiplying so quickly at the moment that it will be a LONG time before I run out!

I first tried the Treehouse Truck at The Daily City‘s second Food Truck Bazaar. It was my last truck of the evening, so I was incredibly full at the time, but I still managed to try a few bites of the chimoo and a fried PB&J, and they were both delicious.

The Chimoo – a huge sandwich filled with skirt steak, chicken, sweet potato fries, cole slaw, and mango BBQ sauce. Genius.

I got the opportunity to try another item from this awesome truck a couple of weeks ago when they were set up in Thornton Park with the Big Wheel Truck for the evening. This time, I rushed over after work to get there before they closed up for the night, and the truck was not nearly as busy as it had been at the food truck bazaar. Because of this, I was able to chat with a couple of the guys at the truck for a few minutes while waiting for my Aggie’s Porto Sammie to be made. These guys clearly love what they are doing, and that make the fact that what they are cooking up is fantastic all the more excellent. The Porto Sammie was so delicious and messy; the marinated portobella mushroom along with red peppers and melty provolone cheese is so hearty you will NEVER miss the meat!

I went over to the Food Truck Pod at Lake Lily in Maitland this Tuesday night with a friend and couldn’t resist getting in line for the Treehouse Truck for a third try. This truck is quickly becoming one of my local favorites. The wait in line for both ordering and receiving food is entirely worth it; you can see how hard these guys are working through the windows in the truck! This time, because my friend had never tried the Treehouse Truck, I ordered the Porto Sammie again as well as a PB&J (peanut butter, apricot jelly, and nutella??? Yes, please!) for us to split. They ran out of chimoos right before it was my turn to order and I got the second to last PB&J for the night, so if you have your heart set on a particular item, especially the popular Chimoo and Luther (a bacon cheeseburger sandwiched between two Krispy Kreme donuts!), get there early.

One of the cool things about this truck, in addition to the fact that the food is delicious, well worth the price paid, and unique, is that the people involved care about their customers and their work. I was even remembered from my trip to Thornton Park two weeks prior (granted, my first name is unique and so is my job, somewhat, so I suppose that is why, but still), which, when you have an idea of how many people are served by the Treehouse Truck in a given week, is pretty darn awesome in my opinion. It makes a customer feel special, and definitely makes one want to go back again.

Overall, at the moment, the Treehouse Truck can do no wrong. If you haven’t been, GO. Soon. They are normally at the Food Truck Pod in Lake Lily in Maitland on Tuesday evenings from 6pm until 9pm, and on Wednesday evenings at Firestone Live downtown Orlando from 6pm until late. Plus, they are constantly announcing their location on Twitter and are always willing to answer fellow Tweeters’ questions.

//

Leave a Reply

