Recipe Quickie: Cheese & Onion Pasties

Originally posted on Blogger on May 18, 2011

We lived in the UK for about a year after I graduated college (C is British), and while I had never heard many glowing reviews of British food, I did find that I was VERY fond of their “takeaways” while living there. One of my favorite items from our local Fish & Chip shop was the cheese and onion pasty. Pasties are basically savory hand pies filled with a variety of delicious combinations of meat, cheese, and veggies.

Here is a quick dinner I whipped up a couple of nights ago for C and I. They are incredibly easy, do not need any sort of real recipe, and can easily be frozen to keep on hand for even quicker meals.

Ingredients:

yellow onion
cheese (I use pre-shredded colby or cheddar jack, usually)
frozen puff pastry

Directions:

I preheat the oven at 375, then set the puff pastry out to defrost. While it defrosts I slice the onions and put them in a saute pan with a pat of butter and some olive oil. On medium-low to medium heat I saute the onions until they are soft and slightly brown and then transfer them to a mixing bowl. I let the onions cool a bit while I put parchment paper onto a cookie sheet and spray it with cooking spray. I then unfold the puff pastry and let it continue defrosting. Once that is done, I add the cheese (usually a full bag of shredded cheese) to the mixing bowl along with some salt and pepper and whatever other seasonings strike my fancy at that moment. After mixing everything together, I cut each sheet of defrosted puff pastry into four pieces, then spoon a generous amount of filling onto half of each piece. Then the pastry gets folded over and sealed with a fork before being moved onto the cookie sheet. Once they are all laid out on the cookie sheet, I spray them lightly with cooking spray and cut slits in each little package. They look like this:

Then I pop them in the oven for 35-40 minutes, and they come out all golden, delicious, and oozing with cheesy oniony flavor. Like I said, these little packets of amazingness can be made with pretty much any filling. Try shepherd’s pie, with ground beef, veggies, and chunks of potato! Or chicken pot pie filling! The possibilities are endless, really.

Leave a Reply

