The First Official Food Truck Adventure

Originally posted on Blogger on April 23, 2011

I made my first impromptu food truck trip a couple of weeks ago, stopping at a latin truck for a couple of arepas before getting Twistee Treat for dessert. The food was so good, and so exceeded my expectations, that I was instantly hooked on Orlando food trucks and seriously wanting more.

Hence, I spent the next day doing some searching on various food trucks in the Orlando area and boy was I surprised at how popular and diverse they seem to be! After finding the Orlando Food Truck Map, I knew I had to start trying them all. Which, of course, finally brings us to tonight, the very first OFFICIAL FOOD TRUCK ADVENTURRRRREEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!!

I had planned to go to the Food Pod on Wednesday night at Firestone Live, but ended up not making it out, so tonight was the first night, and of course the trucks present at the Food Pod were foremost in my mind. I’m not sure why, but the Korean BBQ Taco Box was at the top of my list. Now, don’t get me wrong, I love Korean food, and I love tacos. Barbeque is hit or miss for me, but Korean barbeque is an entirely different ballgame and I’m aware of that. However, I just think it was the combination of foods that tickled my mind and made me want to try it SO badly. They closed at 9, though, whereas the other trucks I was considering for tonight didn’t even open until at least 10pm. I didn’t care; I was a girl on a mission. I made it to the big yellow truck by 8:30 and didn’t have to wait in line. I promptly ordered the beef taco box, and stood waiting while they made it up fresh for me. For just under $6, I got a HUGE box of food with amazing smells emanating from it. With my beef taco box in my passenger seat, I quickly zipped through the Starbucks drive thru for iced coffee and headed up Orange Avenue to meet my friend. We had about an hour to kill at that point before the other trucks started opening up, so we dove into the taco box.

The beef taco box consisted of (obviously) a pretty large-sized taco (filled with shredded barbeque beef, lettuce, and some sort of orange saucy deliciousness), two pieces of breaded fried tofu (tofu nuggets! Delish!), two pieces of “fried rolls” as they are called on the website (I have no idea what was in them, but also…SO GOOD), ginger salad, and a chicken wing with spicy sauce. SIX DOLLARS, PEOPLE. So worth it. We quickly devoured the entire thing and contemplated our next move before deciding to do a quick drive around the Orange Ave/Washington St. area to assess our options and decide how much more food our stomachs could hold. After seeing the night’s menu for Big Wheel Provisions, we knew that was a must-stop, and even though we located the Treehouse Truck and El Arepaso de Orlando and knew that the Vegan Hot Dog Cart was nearby, we decided just Big Wheel would be enough for tonight. Besides, we had to save something for another night!

So, we parked back up and walked over to the Big Wheel truck. It was just after ten at that point, so we knew we were probably a bit early, and they were still setting up when we got there. The girls were SUPER friendly, though, and told us they’d be open shortly. We had no problem waiting and told them so; we hadn’t even decided what we wanted, yet! Once that light turned on, though, we were ready and quickly stepped up to the window; a small group was immediately in line behind us, so we were glad we’d gotten there a bit early. After placing our order and stepping aside, we realized there were ironing boards covered in paper set up for eating on and that, since we planned to take the food to eat back at the car, we needed to specify that we wanted it to go. No problem, my friend just quickly stepped back to the window when there was an open spot and let them know, and they had no issues packing things up for us.

For just over $21, we got:

Madras Curry Fries with Cucumber and Yogurt Raita

Local Deviled Eggs with Big Wheel Pancetta

Seared Pork Belly Sandwich with Buffalo Vinaigrette and Winter Park Bleu Crema

Whole Fried Fresh Mozzarella “Ovaline”

Everything was amazing. I really didn’t plan to try the pork belly sandwich (again, I’ve never been much for pork), but I couldn’t help it. When it was unwrapped, I had to tear off a small piece and try it, and from there…it was hard to stop.

We ended the evening full and satisfied but not stuffed, just how we’d hoped. One more truck was tempting but would’ve pushed us both overboard. I will say, though, that this first adventure definitely did not sate my appetite for Orlando’s food truck scene. If anything, it has only made me want to venture out more, and I cannot wait to do so!

Korean BBQ Taco Box Food Truck on Urbanspoon

Big Wheel Provisions Food Truck on Urbanspoon

Want to follow my adventures? Find me @orlndofoodie on Twitter!

Leave a Reply

