China Sun – Local Chinese Take-Out at its Best

Originally posted on Blogger on June 21, 2011

Hidden in the middle of an area of Orlando that one would most likely not venture to in search of a delicious meal, China Sun is found. While it isn’t an upscale or expensive restaurant, China Sun is the best Chinese take-out that I have tried since moving back to Orlando four years ago. I will admit, I’ve never actually been to the restaurant’s storefront (located at the corner of Oak Ridge and Rio Grande); we’ve always ordered by phone and had our dinner delivered. We have our standard favorites, but I do like to venture out once in awhile and try something new, so we’ve had a good sampling of their menu over the last couple of years.

We ordered food from China Sun for the first time in a few months last week, and since it was just C and I (and he didn’t want leftovers for a week like usual), we only ordered a few items and most of them were off our list of “go-to” options.


C ordered sweet-and-sour chicken, spring rolls, and a small order of pork lo mein. When you see the photo of the lo mein, keep in mind that this is a small order. The large is enormous, and is an indicator of yet another plus to China Sun. Not only is their food tasty, it is extremely affordable and comes with generous portions. Neither sweet and sour chicken or anything with pork are dishes that I usually choose for myself, but I have to admit, I really enjoy both of them and have even ordered the chicken a few times on my own. Neither of us eat sweet and sour sauce, though, so I’m not able to comment on that 😦

Sweet and Sour Chicken
Pork Lo Mein

I ordered the sesame chicken combo, substituting plain fried rice for the pork fried rice and a spring roll for the egg roll. That is the one bad thing I’ve had from China Sun – the egg rolls. The wrapper was too thick, and the flavors inside just seemed…off. C and a few of our friends who have tried them have all found the same thing. The spring rolls, though? DeLICious. Without fail, every time. The sesame chicken isn’t something that I order often, but I enjoy it every time. It is sweet but not overly so, the chicken is crispy and moist, and when mixed with the plain fried rice just makes a perfect meal to me. The only thing that would possibly improve it would be if there were some veggies mixed in with the chicken (perhaps carrots and onions like they add to their curry chicken). The one thing (along with C’s required spring rolls) that I always order from China Sun (or any other Chinese restaurant, for that matter) is crab rangoon. China Sun’s are not the best I have ever had, but they are very, very good.

Sesame Chicken Combo
Spring Roll
Crab Rangoon

Not only are the food and prices at China Sun great, the staff is insanely friendly. They are always pleasant on the phone when placing an order, and the guys who deliver the food are always smiling (even when our gate code doesn’t work….three times…) and have, multiple times, brought us a 2 liter of Pepsi with our larger order, joyfully exclaiming “This is free!” as they hand it to us.

My bowl of deliciousness

If you live or find yourself in the Millenia or Florida Mall areas and are craving Chinese take-out, please, give China Sun a try!

//

Leave a Reply

