Spicy Turkey Sauce – Recipe

Oh hey! Remember when I said I was going to start blogging regularly again…oh….a month or more ago? Ha. Ooops. I decided instead that I’d move to WordPress and start stockpiling recipes and photos so that when I did start writing again, I wouldn’t have to go through a major post drought like I just did because I didn’t have time to cook and photograph delicious things! Weeellllll okay so I did that. Sort of. I took a ton of photos, and went and ate/cooked a bunch of things in the last month, and I cannot wait to share them with you! In fact, I was so excited about it I sat down to write a post yesterday afternoon when I realized….ohhhh right. I need to edit and file and sort all of these photos! Yeesh. That took forever, folks. Never again will I hold onto that many photos without at least sorting them out.

Annnnnnnnnnnnnnyway. I’m back! Yay! And with all of the dreary weather we’ve been having lately (I know I can’t complain about the rain here with all of the snow…SNOW, in October!…that so many of you are dealing with right now), I thought the best way to come back is with a recipe that is super easy, super delicious, super versatile, and super hearty for an autumn meal.

I only discovered the amazingness that is sriracha last year. Yup, seriously. No clue how I’d missed out on it for all of this time, but when I saw a section using it in multiple recipes in one of my issues of Everyday Food, I knew I had to try it out. So, I went out and bought a bottle, and quickly started adding it to everything. My favorite thing to add it to, though? This spicy turkey sauce that actually was adapted from that same issue of Everyday Food.

The awesome thing about this sauce (I know I keep bragging, but seriously. So good) is that it can be used in a hundred ways, plus you can make a huge batch and freeze it for evenings when you don’t have time to cook. Some of the ways I’ve used it so far?

  • Heated up and mixed with cream cheese for a spicy tortilla chip dip.
  • Taco filling
  • Mixed with whole grain penne with parmesan cheese and red pepper flakes sprinkled on top (as pictured)
  • Heck, I even have a friend who eats it from a bowl like chili!

I should probably share the recipe with you now, huh? Okay, okay…here you go 🙂

Recipe: Spicy Turkey Sauce

Ingredients:

1 pound lean ground turkey
10 oz package of frozen spinach, thawed and drained
1 yellow onion, diced
2 cloves of garlic, minced
2 26oz boxes or cans of chopped tomatoes (I used Pomi chopped tomatoes this time)
1 8oz can of tomato sauce
4-8 tbsp sriracha
salt and pepper
2 tbsp olive oil

Directions:

1. In a large sauce pan or skillet over medium heat, heat the olive oil and then add the chopped onion, cooking until soft. Add the minced garlic.

2. While the onions and garlic cook, mix the ground turkey, spinach, salt and pepper (to taste), and 2-4 tbsp (also to taste) sriracha in a medium mixing bowl, just until combined.

3. Add the turkey mixture to the pan, mixing with the onions and cooking until the meat is browned and cooked through.

4. Add the chopped tomatoes and the tomato sauce, the remaining sriracha (the spicier, the better!), and additional salt and pepper. Simmer over medium low heat at least until everything is heated through, although the longer the better (I usually leave mine to simmer for 30 minutes or so).

5. Serve any way you like! If you don’t like the chunky texture of the chopped tomatoes, you can substitute additional canned sauce or a jarred tomato sauce of your choice . You can also, obviously, pour the sauce into containers and let it cool before freezing for later 🙂

Do you have a favorite go-to hearty sauce recipe? Please share, if you do!

3 responses

Leave a Reply

