Goat Cheese and Pesto Pizza – Recipe

C and I both love pizza, although our tastes in toppings are pretty different. He likes his loaded with meat and light on the sauce. I like mine New York style with a thin but bready crust and minimal toppings (I’m happy with cheese and then maybe one or two more, max). White pizza is also a favorite of mine, and he tends to like variations on them (although he’s not tried them often) so sauce-less pizzas are perfect for us to share.

I modeled this recipe after my favorite pizza at Wolfgang Puck Express at Downtown Disney. It is simple but still full of flavor; if you make your own pizza crust, I strongly suggest using it here or picking up a bag of dough from your favorite pizza place. I was in a crunch the day I took these photos, so I used a Pillsbury thin crust dough. It is a little too bready even as a thin crust, to me, but the flavors are still awesome. I also suggest using homemade pesto (mine was a combination of basil, parmesan, olive oil, walnuts, and garlic), but if you have a jar of premade around, that will work just fine too.

Goat Cheese and Pesto Pizza

Ingredients:

dough for one pizza (as mentioned above, I used a Pillsbury thin crust dough)
2 Roma tomatoes
4-6 oz goat cheese
1-2 fresh mozzarella balls (you can also use shredded mozz, but I love the fresh!)
4 tbsp pesto
4 tbsp olive oil (plus extra for drizzling)

Directions:

1. Preheat the oven to 400F.
2. Roll the crust out on either a round pizza pan or a cookie sheet, depending on the type of crust you are using, and then drizzle lightly with olive oil.
3. Bake the crust for about 8-10 minutes.
4. While the crust is baking, slice the tomatoes into rounds about 1/4 inch thick and mix the 4 tablespoons of pesto with the 4 tablespoons of olive oil. Also, slice the mozzarella into thin rounds as well.
5. Once the crust has finished its pre-baking, lay out the tomato slices over the crust (I like 1-2 slices of tomato per finished pizza slice) and then top each slice with a dollop of goat cheese.

6. Drizzle the entire crust with the pesto-olive oil mixture. Sometimes I will also do a thin layer of this oil spread over the entire crust before laying down the tomatoes, also. It just depends on how much you love pesto, really. 🙂

7. Lay the mozzarella slices across the entire pizza. Don’t worry if there are some gaps between your mozzarella – it will spread as it melts.
8. Put your pizza back into the oven and bake for another 6-8 minutes, or until the crust is browned around the edges and the mozzarella is nice and melty.

This pizza is SO easy and quick to make that it is a perfect weeknight meal. What are your favorite pizza toppings? How about your favorite crust type?

 

3 responses

  1. Um, hello – goat cheese and pesto? On a PIZZA? I think those are my three (well, four) favourite words in a sentence together :). Love this idea!

  2. My BF and I are big pizza fans. I like a thin but chewy crust and he likes a more traditional pizza. We totally differ on toppings too! I may have to make this for myself (b/c it looks amazing) and make him a plain old pepperoni 😉 Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

